Tem Miles elected West Columbia mayor, Dickey wins Dist. 4 seat, Moye wins Dist. 8 seat

Tem Miles talks to media after winning.

Tem Miles has been elected the next mayor of West Columbia. Miles received 1,277 votes to 456 for Madison Duncan, Tuesday. Miles will replace outgoing Mayor Bobby Horton who did not run.

Miles was the District Four councilman on West Columbia City Council. Joseph Dickey won Miles’ former seat Tuesday night. David Moye won the Dist. 8 seat on city council. The challengers were Dave Shaw, Jan Anderson and Rod Lorick. 

Joseph Dickey, Tem Miles, Jimmy Brooks.

Jimmy Brooks in District 6 faced no opposition and was reelected. Trevor Bedell, in District 2, also did not have an opponent.

Miles stated, “I’m honored and truly humbled by the support of the voters of West Columbia. I set out to earn every vote and to be a mayor for the people. I look forward to working with our members of council and our outstanding city staff to continue making West Columbia a place that we are proud to call our home.”

Miles also said outgoing Mayor Bobby Horton told him: “No matter what you do, you’re not going to make everybody happy,” But Miles siad he would work “to make West Columbia the best place to purchase a home, raise a family and start a business.”

David Moye- Dist 8 winner.

He said other priorities are to provide the best services at the lowest cost, as is the case now in West Columbia. Miles said he learned good leadership practices from Horton.

Dickey defeated Ronnie Lindler for his seat that is comprised of The River District.

Dickey said he is ready to jump in and continue the momentum of the city.
“Now’s the time to roll up the sleeves and get to work,” he said. He also said he wants to make sure the development, as more of it moves forward, is done right.

We’re headed in the right direction, but I think there are some things we can do better.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *