Lexington Two honors 2016-17 Jr. Scholars at Board meeting


Lexington Two 2016-17 Jr. Scholars

The Lexington Two 2016-17 Jr. Scholars were honored before the Lexington 2 School Board meeting Thursday.
The Jr. Scholars are: Busbee Creative Arts Academy : Doh Nay Htoo: Fulmer Middle School: Aubrey Best; Jordan Boone; Bryce Evans; Caroline Reddick: Brycen Redmond and Kimberlyn Yarborough; Northside Middle School: Gretchen Berry; Brett Bradford; Carley Craft; Hope Donadio; Halle Hungerford; Brycen Johnson; Rachel O’Dell; Alexis Spainhour; Jalen Sutton and Gavin Taylor; Pine Ridge Middle School: Sydney Coleman; Kaylin Liscusky; Jordan Shetrone; James Jacques and Victoria King.

The South Carolina Junior Scholars Program was developed by the South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) during the 1985–1986 school year to identify eighth-grade students with exceptional academic talent and to develop strategies for inclusion into special programs.

The program includes a process for screening a potential talent pool of students, identifying and recognizing those students with exceptionally high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability, and sponsoring summer opportunities in collaboration with participating South Carolina colleges and universities and with the Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics.

Students are identified in the eighth grade. Students who qualify for this special recognition will receive an Award of Merit certificate, a Junior Scholar bumper sticker, and may be recognized in local award ceremonies, and invited to attend summer opportunities at participating South Carolina colleges and universities.

Eligibility Criteria
Any eigth-grade student currently enrolled in a public, private, or home school (home-school association must be registered with the SCDE) in South Carolina.

Identification Criteria
Junior Scholar candidates are those eligible students who: Score 550 or higher on the Evidence-Based Reading and Writing portion of the PSAT/NMSQT; or Score 530 or higher on the Mathematics portion of the PSAT/NMSQT; or Participate in Duke University’s Talent Identification Program (TIP) during his/her seventh- grade year, met the eligibility requirements as outlined by that program, and be invited to attend either the State or Grand Recognition Ceremonies.

The South Carolina Junior Scholars Program reflects the growing statewide effort to improve education in South Carolina and responds to the needs of students possessing unique abilities. The purpose of the program is to identify students and provide opportunities that will facilitate their intellectual growth, broaden their individual interests, and promote their scholastic achievement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *