Lexington 2 Junior Scholars recognized at Board meeting

Twenty-eight Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.

Lexington Two’s Junior Scholars were recognized at an awards ceremony, Thursday, before the monthly Board of Trustees meeting. The event was at the District Education Center, 715 Ninth St.

The program, developed by the state Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders with high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability through testing and other criteria, offering summer opportunities through South Carolina colleges and universities, according to the department website.

Among the Junior Scholars announced in Lexington Two:

Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Anna Hoppock, Adrian Ibarra Alonso, Violet Kelly, Xzaiver Mathis

Fulmer Middle: Eleanor Autry, Isabella Brown, Sydney Evans, Abigail Fisher, Ethan Jeffcoat, Jacob Kaminski, Eliana Kyzer, Kaden Peteja, Kenneth Randolph, Bryson Vaughan, Tobias Welch

Northside Middle:  Casey Brightwell, Edith Brooks

Pine Ridge Middle: Lily Branton, Josh Lindner, Harley McIver, Caitlyn Miller, Margaret Petermann, Mark Ritchie, Mary Stewart, Raven Taylor, Ved Thakor, Amaiyah Walker, Gracyn Whitaker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *